Gear Production

MAR 2015

Gear Production

Issue link: https://gear.epubxp.com/i/465232

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 27

2—GEAR Production Supplement 6 12 C O N T E N T S M A R C H 2 0 1 5 PUBLISHER Travis Egan tegan@gardnerweb.com EDITOR Russ Willcutt rwillcutt@mmsonline.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Matthew Jaster mjaster@mmsonline.com SR. MANAGING EDITOR Kate Hand khand@gardnerweb.com ASSISTANT EDITOR Stephanie Monsanty smonsanty@gardnerweb.com ART DIRECTOR Kenny Snowball ksnowball@gardnerweb.com ADVERTISING MANAGER William Caldwell billc@gardnerweb.com 4 The Pitchline Avoid or Embrace? When a new machining technology is introduced, are you hesitant or eager to learn more? However you tend to react, we're here to report our real-world experienc- es so that you can make an informed decision. By Russ Willcutt F E A T U R E S 6 Grinding Big Gears from Blanks Harnessing the latest abrasives technology en- ables this shop to grind huge gears complete from a blank, eliminating multiple machining steps and providing a smooth surface fnish. By Russ Willcutt 12 Optimizing the Production Path New scheduling and resource allocation gives gear manufacturer the fexibility to cut down on shop foor backlogs and bottlenecks. By Matthew Jaster 16 Manufacturing Gears with Waterjet Machining Advances in abrasive waterjet technology provide gear manufacturers with a fast and accurate method for cutting a variety of gear geometries and materials. By Carl Olsen, Software Engineering Manager, Omax Corp. 20 Product News Gear Production Equipment Review

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Gear Production - MAR 2015